RSS

Day Camp, part 2. Hope for humanity edition.

05 Jul

So, you may remember what I wrote yesterday about how I was afraid to say things to the kids who use gay as an insult at my day camp. Today, I found out that one of my kids actually has lesbian moms, and therefore have permission to say things like “it’s okay for people to be gay” (as long as I say them in ways in which conservative parents might not totally flip out).

But that’s not the part that gives me hope for humanity. One kid (he’s one of my favorites…even if I’m not supposed to have those), was trying to be funny and walking around while dramatically swinging his hips. Another kid looked at him and said “Stop walking like that! You’re gay!” The original boy responded “That doesn’t make me gay. Loving someone does.” He’s seven years old.

So I guess it just made me feel better that there are some kids who don’t think in hateful ways. Who can simply accept something as love, and not ask anymore questions. Because really, that’s all I want anyone else to do. Recognize that love is love. No matter the genders of the parties involved. That love isn’t something that is wrong or bad. It just is. And it can be wonderful.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Day Camp, part 2. Hope for humanity edition.

  1. Wilhelmina Upton

    July 6, 2012 at 1:16 am

    What a smart little boy that was :-)

     

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

